Ramsar Wetlands of Greece

In Greece, 10 wetland areas have been declared Ramsar Wetlands since 1974

Greek Ramsar Wetlands (in more details)

The Ramsar treaty was negotiated through the 1960s by countries and non-governmental organizations concerned about the increasing loss and degradation of wetland habitat for migratory waterbirds. It was adopted in the Iranian city of Ramsar in 1971 and came into force in 1975.

Wetland area
Evros Delta 9.267
Lakes Vistonida-Porto Lagos-Ismarida and adjoining lagoons 24.396
Nestos Delta and adjoining lagoons 21.930
Lakes Volvii & Koroneia 16.388
Artificial Kerkini Lake 10.966
Lake Mikri Prespa 5.078
'Ambracean gulf 23.649
Lagoons of Messolonghi 33.687
Lagoons of Kotychi 6.302
Delta of Axios-Loudias-Aliakmon 11.808


My "other" sites:
The use of the content of this site is free for non-commercial use
Creative Commons License    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License